About Us

Our History

The Veterans Service Commission

In May 1886, after the Civil War was over and reconstruction was well along, the Ohio Legislatures enacted 83 Ohio Law 232.  This law provided for a Soldier’s Relief Commission of three members to be appointed for each of the 88 counties in the state.  The state legislature has seen a need to repay the debt owed Ohio’s Civil War veterans along with concerns for their families formulated this set of laws to provide financial assistance for Soldiers, Sailors, and Marines and their dependents or survivors.

The Soldier’s Relief Commission functioned for nearly 60 years, providing for the needs of Ohio veterans, with little change.  Each Soldier’s Relief Commission acting as a separate entity.  To oversee the operation of the Veteran’s Service Office; to provide temporary financial assistance to veterans, spouses, dependent children, and surviving spouses.

Veterans' Service Commission

John Riha, AMVETS
Term Ends 12/31/2027
Doug Lundblad, VFW
Vice President
Term Ends 12/31/2025
William Smith , VVA/MOPH
Term Ends 12/31/2028
Charles “Skip” Boehnlein, American Legion
Term Ends 12/31/2024
Kyle Petersen, DAV
Term ends 12/31/2026

meet our team

Office Staff

Office hours are from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm Monday through Friday.

Michele Pemberton
Randy McVicker
Assistant Director/CVSO
Stacie Malone
Doug Hodakievic